Erase Apple devices

If you’re an administrator or user, you can locally or remotely erase a device—in most cases using the option Erase All Content and Settings. On the device, erasing (or wiping) obliterates all the keys in effaceable storage and renders all user data cryptographically inaccessible.

Erase all content and settings

Mac computers with Apple silicon, or with the Apple T2 Security Chip with macOS 12.0.1 or later, allow a local administrator—or, if enrolled in a device management service, that service administrator—to initiate the Erase All Content and Settings option, similar to behavior permitted on iPhone, iPad, Apple TV, and Apple Watch devices. This process erases all user data, along with any additional volumes on the Mac. For a Mac with Apple silicon, it also resets the security settings to their default state (Full Security). A device management service can also:

  • Can use a restriction to prevent erasing all content and settings on a Mac (this feature already exists for iPhone and iPad devices)

  • Can use the existing EraseDevice command to erase all content and settings

Ways to initiate a remote wipe command

No matter which Apple device you want to wipe (iPhone, iPad, or Mac), you can initiate a remote wipe command through a device management service, iCloud, or Microsoft Exchange ActiveSync. When you initiate a remote wipe command through a device management service, the Apple device sends an acknowledgment back to the service and performs the wipe. For more information, see Remote wipe.

When you initiate a remote wipe through Microsoft Exchange ActiveSync (iPhone and iPad only), the device checks in with the Microsoft Exchange Server before performing the wipe. You can perform the remote wipe using the Exchange Management Console, Outlook Web Access, or the Exchange ActiveSync Mobile Administration Web Tool.

Remote wipe in iOS, iPadOS, and visionOS

For iPhone, iPad, and Apple Vision Pro, the Erase All Content and Settings option is located in the Settings app. Remote wipe using Erase All Content and Settings isnʼt possible for the following kinds of accounts:

  • Accounts using User Enrollment

  • Accounts using Microsoft Exchange ActiveSync when the account that was installed with User Enrollment

  • Accounts using Microsoft Exchange ActiveSync if the device is supervised

Note: Besides using the Erase All Content and Settings option, device management services and users can also set an iPhone, iPad, or Apple Vision Pro to automatically wipe after a series of failed passcode attempts.

Remote wipe in macOS with a device management service

For a Mac with macOS 12.0.1 or later, a device management service initiates a remote wipe by default with the Erase All Content and Settings option, which you can find in Apple menu > System Settings > General > Transfer or Reset > Erase All Content and Settings.

The device management service initiates a remote wipe on Mac computers with Apple silicon, and those with the Apple T2 Security Chip.

Using a device management service, depending on which Mac model you have, you can trigger the Erase All Content and Settings option by sending an EraseDevice command to the Mac. To receive this command, the Mac needs to meet the requirements listed below:

Mac model

Minimum supported operating system

Requirement for enabling remote wipe

With Apple silicon

macOS 12.0.1

  • Needs to have a bootstrap token from the device management service.

With Apple silicon or with the Apple T2 Security Chip

macOS 12.0.1

  • Needs to be started from the first partition if there are multiple.

  • Needs to have a signed system volume (SSV).

  • Can’t have been started from an external volume.

With the Apple T2 Security Chip

macOS 12.0.1

  • Needs to be in Full Security mode.

  • Can’t have an EFI Firmware Password set. If one is currently set, in macOS 12.0.1 or later you can remove it using the SetFirmwarePassword command and then issue the EraseDevice command, without an intermediary restart being required.

If one or more of the above conditions arenʼt met when receiving an EraseDevice command, a Mac by default falls back to using a macOS 11 behavior called obliteration. After a device is erased with obliteration, you need to reinstall macOS before the Mac can be used.

You can manage the obliteration fallback behavior for erasing a Mac in the EraseDevice command’s ObliterationBehavior key. If Erase All Content and Settings fails, you use this key (which has no effect on machines prior to the T2 chip) to specify a Mac’s fallback behavior by choosing one of the following values:

  • Default (or missing key): The device responds to the server with an Error status or no status, and then attempts obliteration.

  • DoNotObliterate: The device responds with an Error status, and no obliteration occurs.

  • ObliterateWithWarning: The device responds with an Acknowledgement or Warning status, and then attempts obliteration.

In addition, an EACSPreflight check can determine the behavior ahead of time, and return Success, Not supported, or Unknown failure with data on why it may have failed. This allows organizations and device management services to determine the most suitable way to proceed prior to sending the EraseDevice command.

Important: This process can inadvertently erase a Mac that enrolls with a device management service if the Mac has FileVault turned on and it doesn’t support Erase All Content and Settings. The behavior is similar to obliteration, and a full reinstall of macOS is required.

Published Date: October 25, 2023
Morty Proxy This is a proxified and sanitized view of the page, visit original site.
Helpful?
Character limit: 250
Maximum character limit is 250.
Thanks for your feedback.
Morty Proxy This is a proxified and sanitized view of the page, visit original site.