Products, services, and OS functions
may not be available in this country.

Share notes and collaborate on iPad

In the Notes app , you can send a copy of a note to a friend. You can also invite people to collaborate on a note or on a folder of notes in iCloud, and everyone will see the latest changes.

Share a copy of a note

  1. Open the note you want to share.

  2. Tap the Share button, choose Send Copy, then choose how to send your note.

Collaborate on a note or folder of notes using iCloud

If you want to collaborate on a note or folder of notes with others, you can share a note or folder in iCloud. You set permissions for other collaborators (such as allowing them to edit notes, add attachments, and create subfolders), and all the collaborators can see everyone’s changes. Everyone you collaborate with must be signed in with their Apple ID and have Notes turned on in iCloud settings.

Note: You can’t collaborate on a locked note or on a folder with locked notes.

  1. Do one of the following:

    • In the notes list, swipe left on the note you want to share, then tap the Share Note button.

    • Open the note you want to share, then tap the Share button.

    • In the folder list, swipe left on the folder you want to share, then tap the Share Folder button.

    • Open the folder you want to share, tap the Folder Actions button, then tap Share Folder.

  2. Choose Collaborate.

  3. To change the access and permissions, tap the share options below Collaborate. You can set any of the following:

    • Allow access to only people you invite or anyone with the link.

    • Give collaborators permission to make changes or view only.

    • Allow others to invite (available only when collaborators have permission to make changes).

  4. Choose how to send your invitation (for example, using Messages or Mail).

    If you send the invitation in Messages, you get activity updates in the Messages conversation when someone makes changes in the shared note. Tap the updates to go to the shared note.

View activity in a note

In the notes list, an orange dot to the left of a note title indicates the note has changed since you last looked at it.

  1. Open the note, then swipe right on the note or swipe up on the Activity card to see who made changes and when.

  2. To adjust how the activity is shown, tap the View Participants button, then choose any of the following:

    • Show Updates: Shows changes made since you last opened the note.

    • Show All Activity: Shows all activity in the note.

    • Show Highlights: Shows names, dates, and changes made by each collaborator.

Tip: To mention a collaborator and notify them of important updates, type an @ sign followed by their name.

View activity in a folder

Touch and hold the folder, then tap Show Folder Activity.

Change sharing settings

  • Manage a shared note: Tap the Collaborate button, then tap Manage Shared Note.

  • Manage a shared folder: Tap the Folder Actions button, then tap Manage Shared Folder.

  • Remove people: Tap the collaborator you want to remove, then tap Remove Access.

  • Change access and permission settings: To change the settings for all collaborators, tap Share Options. To change the settings for an individual collaborator, tap their name.

  • Stop sharing: When you choose this option, the shared note or folder is deleted from the devices of the other participants.

Morty Proxy This is a proxified and sanitized view of the page, visit original site.
Helpful?
Character limit: 250
Maximum character limit is 250.
Thanks for your feedback.
Morty Proxy This is a proxified and sanitized view of the page, visit original site.