Modifying this control will update this page automatically

Create shared albums in Photos on iPhone

With Shared Albums in the Photos app , you can create albums to share photos and videos with just the subscribers you choose—and they can add their own photos, videos, and comments for everyone to see. If you set up a shared album, you can also rename or delete it.

Before you begin

  1. Make sure you’re signed in with your Apple ID on your iPhone and any other devices you want to use with Shared Albums.

  2. Go to Settings  > [your name] > iCloud > Photos, then turn on Shared Albums (green is on).

Create a shared album

  1. Open the Photos app on your iPhone.

  2. Tap Albums, tap the Add button at the top of the screen, then tap New Shared Album.

  3. Enter a name for the shared album, then tap Next.

  4. Type the name of the contact you want to add, or type the email address or phone number associated with the recipient’s Apple ID. When you’ve added everyone, tap Create.

Join a shared album

When you’re invited to join a shared album, a notification appears on your iPhone screen.

Tap the notification, then tap Accept on the album in the Photos app.

If you don’t join the shared album by tapping the notification, you can also do the following:

  1. Open the Photos app on your iPhone.

  2. Tap For You.

  3. Tap Accept on the new album, below Shared Album Activity.

Note: The person who created the album receives a notification when a subscriber accepts the invitation to join a shared album.

Rename a shared album

The creator of a shared album can change its name.

  1. Open the Photos app on your iPhone.

  2. Tap Albums, then tap the shared album.

  3. Tap the More button, then tap Rename Album.

  4. Enter a new name, then tap Save.

Delete or remove yourself from a shared album

  1. Open the Photos app on your iPhone.

  2. Tap Albums, then tap the shared album.

  3. Tap the Add Subscribers button.

  4. Tap Delete Shared Album if you created the album, or tap Unsubscribe if you’re a subscriber.

Photos that you saved or downloaded from a shared album to your Photos library stay in your library even if the shared album is deleted, or the person who created the album stops sharing it. See Save photos and videos from a shared album to your Photos library.

Morty Proxy This is a proxified and sanitized view of the page, visit original site.
Helpful?
Character limit: 250
Maximum character limit is 250.
Thanks for your feedback.
Morty Proxy This is a proxified and sanitized view of the page, visit original site.