Add and remove people in a shared album in Photos on iPhone

If you’re the creator of a shared album, you can invite more participants to join the album. You can also remove participants from the album, manage album notifications, and turn posting for participants off and on. The creator of a shared album can also choose to let participants add additional participants to the album. If you have friends and family who don’t use iCloud, you can share the album with them by sending an iCloud URL.

Invite or remove people

The creator of a shared album can invite new participants to join the shared album.

  1. Go to the Photos app on your iPhone.

  2. Tap Collections.

  3. Tap Shared Albums, then tap an album.

  4. Tap the More button, tap the album name, then do any of the following:

    • Invite someone: Tap Add Participants, then enter the name of the contact you want to add, or type an email address or phone number.

    • Remove someone: Tap the name, then tap Remove Subscriber.

    • Resend an invitation: Tap the name, then tap Resend Invitation.

  5. Tap the Done button.

Share an album with people who don’t use iCloud

The creator of a shared album can create a unique iCloud URL to share the album with people who don’t use iCloud.

  1. Go to the Photos app on your iPhone.

  2. Tap Collections.

  3. Tap Shared Albums, then tap an album.

  4. Tap the More button, tap the album name, then turn on Public Website.

  5. Tap Share Link, then choose how you want to share the iCloud URL—Mail or Messages, for example.

  6. Tap the Done button.

When Public Website is turned on, anyone with the URL can access the album.

Manage posts and notifications

The creator of a shared album can manage participant posting and album activity notifications by turning those settings off and on.

  1. Go to the Photos app on your iPhone.

  2. Tap Collections.

  3. Tap Shared Albums, then tap an album.

  4. Tap the More button, tap the album name, then do any of the following:

    • Only allow yourself to post photos and videos: Turn off Participants Can Add Photos; tap again to turn participant posting back on.

    • Turn off notifications: Turn off Notifications to stop notifications when subscribers like, comment, or add photos and videos to the album; tap again to turn album notifications back on.

  5. Tap the Done button.

When participants post or comment in a shared album you’re a part of, notifications about the activity appear in the Albums Activity tab.

Morty Proxy This is a proxified and sanitized view of the page, visit original site.
Helpful?
Character limit: 250
Maximum character limit is 250.
Thanks for your feedback.
Morty Proxy This is a proxified and sanitized view of the page, visit original site.